And Now the Countdown Begins…

Today I had my biometrics appointment, which lasted all of about 10 minutes.  I did have to go to the sketchy area of University Ave. and I think I was the only person there trying to leave the country…

I checked in and sat down to wait.  When I finally got called up, I had another photo taken, had my passport photo glare down from the morning where I had to go to Walgreens and get a photo for my visa application.  You’re not allowed to show your teeth per biometrics requirements so no smiling allowed.  Then I was fingerprinted on a scanner.

For some reason my pinkies were not cooperating so the attendant decided to crush my fingers into the scanner pad, which proved to be quite effective.  While standing at the screen I noticed she had me entered into the system as Amanda Arie Grannes.  When I pointed this out, she said,”Oh dear, good thing you caught that!”.  Awesome, you know, because I would just love to do this all again because you missed a letter in my middle name, lady.  And after the fingerprinting I was sent on my merry way.

Rushed home and purchased the settlement priority service from Worldbridge and off to the post office.  I’m so paranoid I forgot to put something in my application packet, but I know it’s all there.  It should arrive at the British Consulate in Chicago before noon tomorrow and then I just get to wait…

About Mandy

29 year old, somewhat snarky, happily married, and always on the look out for a good recipe or latest beauty bargain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

