One Year Ago Today

Well, I guess not if you’re going to get technical since it was on Australia time, but close enough.  Today Dan and I have been dating a year which is entirely too strange because it seems like that year went by way too fast.

When Claire and I arrived in Bundaberg, we were pretty sure we had just made the biggest mistake of our trip.  We got to the hostel around 7:30 in the dark, there was no one at reception (which we had been warned of ahead of time since there was a soccer match going on).  Claire and I didn’t even have rooms in the same building and on top of that we were both stuck living with a bunch of strange guys.  I’m pretty sure no one even acknowledged my presence when I walked into Unit 8.  I probably would have cried myself to sleep that night if not for Marc and his star tattoos, haha.  I certainly would have laughed in your face if you told me I would be meeting my future husband there.

Luckily, while the first night was rough, things got better and although it was a love/hate relationship, Bundaberg turned out to be one of the best parts of my trip.  I’m pretty sure I met Dan the second day I was there, we had a very meaningful conversation about bed bugs and our flights over.  And things just kind of progressed from there.  I remember Dan pointing out once that if we were able to make our relationship work under the less than ideal conditions of being in Bundy, that there was definitely something special there.

Things definitely were not easy, Dan was towards the end of his trip while I had been in Australia about 4 months.  We had to say goodbye to each other one too many times and it never got any easier from standing with Claire at the coach station in Bundy while Dan and James left a second time to having to drop Dan off at MSP in April.  And although I would do it all over again, I’m glad I won’t have to anymore 🙂

About Mandy

29 year old, somewhat snarky, happily married, and always on the look out for a good recipe or latest beauty bargain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

