Around Bournemouth

It was so hot today that I had to go down to the beach for a bit (you have to take advantage of the sunshine when you can here).  So I snapped a couple shots around Bournemouth for your viewing pleasure 🙂

This is a mosaic in the town centre of Bournemouth.  There are tons of shops off the centre and also the gardens that lead down to the sea.

I kind of cut this one off, but there are flowers and lights around the garden for the Bournemouth Bicentennial.

This is the Bournemouth Eye, you can pay an exhorbitant amount of money to go up in this giant helium balloon to see all of Bournemouth.

More gardens on the way to the beach.  This is near the outdoor aviary and where the stalls are set up for local artists to display and sell their work.

The pier which contains a movie theater.  The beach was completely packed as you can see 🙂

I am in bad need of a pedicure so instead of a toes in the sand pic, you get one of my beach gear.

Here’s the hill/bluff that runs along the beach.  All those tiny shacks you see along the bottom are 8’x8′ shacks that people rent for about £45,000.  They are pretty much glorified deck chair storage.

And last, this is a WWI and WWII monument that’s in the park near where Dan and I live.

About Mandy

29 year old, somewhat snarky, happily married, and always on the look out for a good recipe or latest beauty bargain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Around Bournemouth

  1. alex says:

    you live in such a beautiful place! but please don’t complain about the heat 😛 it’s “cooled off” here and its 105 today! i LOVED the pictures of the gardens, you’re so lucky to live there now!! and you have a beach! also, props on the use of the $100 word, “exhorbitant.” why do they waste primo real estate on a movie theater? it’s so pretty, there should be something where you can enjoy the beauty not be locked in a dark room with no windows 😉

    miss you! ❤ i'll email tonight or tomorrow with pictures, i'm almost all set up! whoohoo!

  2. Mom says:

    Hi Honey,

    I’m sorry about you pedicure situation. If you were here we could go to
    the salon and get a Mother/Daughter pedicure. I tried to get your sisters to
    go, but you know they don’t want anyone touching their feet! We just got back
    from the cabin a few minutes ago. It was 47 when we woke up this morning. A
    little chilly, but great for sleeping. We all miss you! Love, Mom

  3. Burton Grannes says:

    Hi Mandy & Dan; I thought I sent you a comment but my computer doesn’t think so!
    So here goes again. We just got home from the lake (8-26-10). The weather was a mixed
    bag: Hot and cold – rainy and sunny. I’ll take whatever rain we can get for the sake
    of the lake and the fish. Your pictures are great; the area is beautiful. Maybe someday
    I can see it for real! Love, Grandma

    • penguinspam says:

      Hi Grandma,
      I’m glad you like the pictures, it is really pretty here when it isn’t raining 🙂

      I hope you had fun at the cabin, I was telling Dan about it the other day, I really wished I would have been able to bring him up there, but maybe we’ll get to someday!

      Love you,
      ❤ Mandy

  4. poddys says:

    Bournemouth is a great place to holiday, and it has so much to offer the tourist. Bournemouth is far more than just beaches.

    Love the photos, not too much has changed down by the pier since I used to work at the Pavilion in the 1970’s. Seems so long ago now…

  5. Kendra says:

    Excellent reading material! I got my copy signed at an Amanda Palmer concert that Neil happened to be at. It sure looks like you’re having a great time and are incredibly happy. I wish you the best!

    • penguinspam says:

      That’s so cool, I’d always known there was a big hype about Neil Gaiman, but I never got around to reading any of his stuff. That’s so cool you got to meet him. I’m just starting American Gods now 🙂

Leave a Reply

