Happy Halloween and Hello November!

Is it really November already?  Let’s see, it was completely dark at 5 and it’s getting colder, fall is making its exit, yes, it is indeed November.  I have been in the UK for 3 months now 🙂

Last Thursday I had an appointment at a recruitment center, I ended up getting a call from my recruiter about 2 hours after my appointment asking if I wanted to start work next week.  I said yes of course, it’s a temporary position in the marketing department of a large contractor in Bournemouth so I’m pretty excited about that.  I’m not sure how long it’s going to last though which kind of sucks, but I start Wednesday so hopefully I’ll get some more info then.

I am trying to keep my options open since I’m not sure how long this assignment will last.  I had a phone interview today with another bank, that went well and I was invited to the second stage of interviewing.  I also have another phone interview tomorrow for a position that starts in January.  I am a little bummed though because this current job kind of threw a wrench in my plans to come home for Thanksgiving.  I’m just going to have to play it by ear and see what I can work out.

In celebration of my new found employment, Dan took me out to dinner that night to a great Italian place called Ask, I had an amazing seafood risotto.  I also did a little shopping on Friday for some new work clothes.  While I was walking back to the flat, I saw that there were pumpkins at the corner fruit and vegetable stand so I bought a little pumpkin to carve.

Well, I was actually more interested in getting the pumpkin seeds to roast.  And then once I had the pumpkin cleaned out, I thought, hey, I’d rather eat this pumpkin than carve it.  So I made pumpkin soup as well.

The demise of my Jack O’ Lantern…

On Saturday, Fiona had invited me to her friend, Rich’s birthday party, which happened to be Hollywood themed.  So I quickly threw together a Lindsay Lohan in Court costume (pics to come eventually, haha).

Oh, I signed up for NaNoWriMo, basically for the month of November you try to write a 50,000 word novel.  Thought it would be kind of fun to do, let’s see if I can actually write that much, haha.

About Mandy

29 year old, somewhat snarky, happily married, and always on the look out for a good recipe or latest beauty bargain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Halloween and Hello November!

  1. Burton Grannes says:

    Congratulations on your successful job hunt! Good excuse to get some new clothes -haha!
    The pumpkin soup sounds interesting – you are getting to be quite a gourmet cook. I’ll
    have to take some lessons from you. We closed the cabin last Friday – we had some snow
    up there but I’m sure it’s gone by now. It’s been pretty nice this week. Say “HI” to
    Dan. WE love you!! Grandma & Grandpa

Leave a Reply

