Thanksgiving in the States

Next Wednesday I will be getting on a bus that will take me to Heathrow airport.  From there, I will board a plane at 2:00 in the afternoon and arrive in Minnesota at 5:00 pm.  No stops or layovers, a nice solid 9 hour flight!  I don’t know how I managed to get lucky enough to have no stops this time, but I’m pretty thrilled about that.  I can’t wait to see my family and friends, meet the new puppy dog, have a proper American Thanksgiving.  It feels like I haven’t been home in ages, but I know once I’m there it will feel like I never left.

As excited as I am about going home, I’m still going to miss Dan for those 10 days.  At least this time, I have a return flight, there won’t be any indefintite months long waiting period before I can see him again.  We were talking about me booking a coach to get to the airport the other night and started thinking about the last time I was at the coach station in Bournemouth.  It was last December, when I had come over here to visit Dan, the first time we’d seen each other since Australia.  I remember standing outside the bus with Dan until the driver said I’d better get on because we were leaving.  I also remember getting stared at by all the other bus passengers as I boarded the bus, sobbing.  Fun times, glad I don’t have to do that again!

It’s going to be a shock coming home to snow, it’s been cold in Bournemouth lately, but we’ve just had a lot of rain.  We actually had a thunderstorm last night with thunder and lightning which seems to be pretty rare, usually you just get the rain without the actual storm part.  Can’t wait to see everyone, especially my mom and dad!  I’ll be counting down the days 🙂

About Mandy

29 year old, somewhat snarky, happily married, and always on the look out for a good recipe or latest beauty bargain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Thanksgiving in the States

  1. Mom says:

    We’ll be counting down the days too!
    We wish Dan was coming with you. We look forward
    to getting to know our new son-in-law. I guess we
    have to wait until next summer. Oh, and tell Dan
    he doesn’t have to worry. We will put you on that
    return flight no matter how painful it will be!!!!!!!!!

    Love you and see you soon.

  2. katie says:

    I had to point out that you said “proper American Thanksgiving” when an American Thanksgiving is the only kind of Thanksgiving there is.

  3. Lynne Warzecha says:

    It will be nice to see you again, too. Too bad Dan can’t come, we would like to meet him. You will have to come to the “Annual Warzecha Thanksgiving Bowlathon” if you can. I know your mom and dad are excited you are coming home for Thanksgiving – something to be thankful for! See you next week – hope your flight is nice and smooth.
    Love, Aunt Lynne and Uncle Lee

  4. Burton Grannes says:

    Hi Mandy;
    We are eagerly waiting for you to come . I’ll have Thanksgiving dinner waiting!!
    Turkey, Pumpkin pie and the works!! Love Ya!
    Grandma & Grandpa

Leave a Reply

