Christmas in Plymouth

Dan had to work until 11am on Christmas Eve, but after he got home we started to prepare to hit the road.  Dan picked up the rental car and we loaded the car up and started towards Plymouth.  The drive out there is always lovely because you’re mostly winding through the countryside, everything was covered in snow and looked so pretty!  It took us about 2 1/2 hours to get to Colleen and Paul’s.

We had a nice relaxing Christmas Eve, Dan and I were able to have a long Skype session with mom, dad, Katie and Jennie which was really nice!  The next morning, Colleen, Paul, Dan and I sat in the living room and exchanged gifts.  Dan and I got huge Christmas stockings from Colleen and Paul (I may have had a few more gifts in my stocking than Dan, hehe).  After the gifts were done, we started to get ready to head over to Dan’s Aunt Sheilagh and Uncle Mike’s for Christmas lunch.

Everyone had a great time at Sheilagh and Mike’s.  There was plenty of food, alcohol, present giving, and some very competitive Wii sessions!  For Christmas dinner we had roast pork, roast turkey, apple and red cabbage, mashed carrot and swede, cauliflower, roasted potatoes (my favorite!), yorkshires, pigs in blankets, brussels sprouts and I’m probably forgetting some other things, but just so my stateside family can get an idea of an English Christmas dinner.  After dinner, we decided to play some Trivial Pursuit on the Wii(with a break for Christmas pudding halfway through), the young versus the not so young.  Dan, James, and I ended up winning the game, but that might have been due to some confusion about the rules and shaky Wii remote handling 🙂  So my first Christmas in England was an excellent one, not so different from how we celebrate in the states, just on a smaller scale, hehe.

For Boxing Day, Dan and I decided to take a drive out to the moors.  When I visited Dan last year around this time everything looked a lot different because there is so much snow this year!

The moors were beautiful and there were plenty of ponies hanging out in the snow.

Dan gets in on the pony action…

And another pony picture for good measure…

After I had my fill of moor ponies, Dan and I headed toward Sheepstor.  Dan had brought me there last year while I was visiting.  It was a little tricky getting there because the back roads hadn’t really been cleared, but we eventually creeped our little rental car to the base of Sheepstor.

Because of where we parked we were on the steep side of Sheepstor and basically I felt like I was dying about halfway up.  I was obviously not in hiking shape after the Christmas Festivities…

I did make it up though after some encouragement from Dan, assuring me I was not going to collapse and die on the side of Sheepstor.

View from the top of Sheepstor.  This next picture was one of the main reasons why Dan and I decided to go to Sheepstor.

The following was taken in the same spot, roughly the same time, last year…

Looks a lot different with all the snow!

Another view from the top:

The way down was a lot easier than going up, mostly because we didn’t go down the super steep side.

Made it to the bottom!

After our venture we headed back to Colleen and Paul’s for buffet lunch.  Dan’s aunt and uncle had come over and we all visited and had more Christmas food, Dan and I played some Wii Sports where I beat him terribly and he had a little cry about it 🙂

The next day, Dan and I had to head back to Bournemouth.  Colleen sent us home with enough food that we probably won’t have to go grocery shopping for two weeks.  We had such a wonderful time!  We hope everyone had as great of a Christmas as we did and a happy 2011!

About Mandy

29 year old, somewhat snarky, happily married, and always on the look out for a good recipe or latest beauty bargain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Christmas in Plymouth

  1. Burton Grannes says:

    Hi Mandy & Dan;
    Sounds like you had a great Christmas! We were busy too. Bob had to work Christmas Day so
    we went to Mass with him, Anna and kids on Christmas Eve. Christmas brunch was a full house,
    Ron & Nick were sick but everyone else was here – Tony & Myra, Joe & Alison, Kristin brought
    her friend Dan and everyone else made it. We did miss you – Cooper got the “rice pudding almond”!
    HAPPY NEW YEAR! W e are going to Debbie’s for New Years Eve.
    Love from Grandma & Grandpa

  2. Colleen says:

    Hiya
    As usual, a really funny and informative blog Mandy – I do enjoy reading them!

    I’m soooo glad that you enjoyed your Christmas – I was very aware of you being away from your own family and really wanted to make it as special as I could. As I said on Christmas morning – it was such a pleasure to buy presents for a female – I thoroughly enjoyed buying them – perhaps you did have just a few more than Dan but hey whose counting? (think Dan was actually!!!!).

    It was good to have a few words with your parents – I’m really looking forward to meeting them in August – they have a lot to be proud of!

    Hope you’re enjoying your X Box and that Dan doesn’t sulk too much when you beat him (keep practicing whilst he’s at work – you’ve only got a few more days before you’ll be in the work force too.

    We are out with Sheilagh and Mike tonightb to see the New Year in – hope you and Dan have a good time – enjoy! xxxxxx

    Love you both to bits.

    Colleen and Paul xxxxxxxxxxx

  3. Pingback: Back to Brixham | Adventures in England

Leave a Reply

