Ratatouille and Wedding Bands

So for night 2 of our meat free week, Dan and I had ratatouille.  I have to say it wasn’t as good as the stuffed peppers, but last night we made pasta with the leftovers and it was much better that way.  So here it is, ratatouille!

This photo makes the veggies look kind of scorched, but I promise it’s just the camera 🙂

Ratatouille is tradionally cooked entirely on the stove top in a pan, but I used a version where you roast the vegetables instead.  So here’s what you need:

2 chopped aubergines (eggplant for those of you stateside)

2 medium chopped courgettes (again zuchinni in the states)

1 choppped onion ( red or yellow)

2 cloves minced garlic

2 sliced yellow bell peppers

1 can diced tomatoes

herbs de provence

Saute onion and garlic in olive oil for about 4 minutes, add in aubergines and courgettes and saute for about 5 minutes.  Then add the sliced peppers and tomatoes (in juice), mix in about tablespoon of herbs de provence (or whatever other herbs you’d like).  Then transfer vegetables to a baking dish and roast in an oven at 200 C for about 35-40 minutes.  Sprinkle with parmasean cheese and serve.

For leftovers, I mixed in some chili flakes and served over pasta with a healthy amount of shredded cheese on top.

Now to the second part of this blog post!  After I finished work today I went to the jeweller’s to see the wax casting of my wedding band.  I’m really excited for it to be made now, I think it is going to look perfect with my engagement ring.  I thought I would be able to get my engagement ring back today, but they need to send it off again to make sure the wedding band fits perfectly with it.  And I won’t have it back for another 4 weeks or so 😦  My finger feels very naked and I know the customers at my work have noticed it’s not there.  So I’m sure they all think I’m having marital issues, haha!  I’m really happy with the jeweller we chose though and I can’t wait to have both rings!

Dan and I also put a deposit down on a car, we’re definitely going to need one for when we move into the new flat and I think Dan found a really good one for us .  Hopefully after the wedding in August I can start taking driving lessons and learn how to drive on the wrong side of the road 🙂

 

About Mandy

29 year old, somewhat snarky, happily married, and always on the look out for a good recipe or latest beauty bargain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

