One Year in the UK

So today marks a bit of a milestone for me.  One year ago today, I was getting off a plane at London, Heathrow.  I was making my way through customs, proudly presenting my fiance visa page in my passport before eagerly scanning the crowd of people in reception with butterflies in my stomach for Dan’s face.  I can’t believe it’s been a year already.

I won’t say it was easy living here to start off with, I think the first day we actually got into the apartment, Dan and I were laying in bed (it was just his bed in his room back then, it’s our bed in our room now), and I burst into tears.  Very promising for Dan I’m sure.  But I was crying because I had left my home, my parents’ home, and now I was just kind of stuck in a new place, not really quite feeling like I fit in yet, still just a visitor.

Both Dan and I made a lot of sacrifices so I could be here, we had a lot of hurdles to overcome as well, our civil ceremony, getting my FLR visa, finding a job, etc.  And now we will be moving into our first flat on our own next week and soon after that flying to the states so we can have the wedding with our families that we have wanted from the beginning.

Obviously, Dan has played a huge part in making the UK feel like home, he’s taken me places I’ve never seen before, shared his wonderful friends and family with me and done his best to make me feel at home here.  And I don’t know what I’d do without the weekly Skype sessions with my mom, dad, and sisters.  Technology is a wonderful thing.  Dan’s family has also welcomed me with open arms and I can’t wait until August when Dan can finally meet my entire family!

Colleen and Paul came down yesterday from Plymouth and we went out for a wonderful meal at Prezzo.  It was a lovely evening, even though I probably didn’t need that last piece of tiramisu, haha 🙂

And while it’s nice to reminisce about what it taken for Dan and I to get to this point, there are so many exciting things to come!  We are moving into our new flat on August 8th (well, Dan will be moving in while I’m at work, haha), and then shortly after that we will be boarding a plane to Minnesota!  Can’t wait 🙂

(This post is a bit shorter than I’d like, but I have a case of lazy Sunday and some homemade soup and beer bread for Dan and my dinner waiting!)

About Mandy

29 year old, somewhat snarky, happily married, and always on the look out for a good recipe or latest beauty bargain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to One Year in the UK

  1. Mom says:

    Well it is nice to know that I wasn’t the only one crying on my bed that day.
    But I do know that even though I only met Dan for a very short time, my mother’s
    intuition told be you would be OK if you were with him. I love you guys and I can’t
    wait to see everyone!

  2. Colleen says:

    I can only ditto what you have said Michelle – I too was in tears talking to Dan who was waiting in the hotel room before going to meet Mandy off the plane but I guess my tears were more of happiness than the sadness you must have been feeling – happiness because I knew that my Dan was finally going to be happy again – he was never the same without your Mandy. Can’t wait to meet the parents and family who has clearly helped shape the wonderful and beautiful girl that Mandy is. xx

  3. Lynne Warzecha says:

    Hi Mandy – wow a year already – seems like you just left and everyone was saying, “can’t believe Mandy is gone and living in England”. Can’t wait until your big day here and we can meet Dan and share in your special day. We are looking forward to having a great time – got my dancing shoes all ready! See you when you all arrive!
    Love, Aunt Lynne and Uncle Lee

  4. S. Grannes says:

    Hi Mandy & Dan,
    Dan – I’m glad our large family didn’t scare you off when Mandy brought you to our house
    to meet everyone at Joe & Alison’s little engagement party.
    Mandy – I’m glad that you are so happy (even If you are so far away from us) and that Dan’s
    family welcomed you with open arms. We are anxious to meet everyone!
    We Love You,
    Grandma & Grandpa

Leave a Reply

