Spanish Green Beans and German Onions

Having a lovely laid back weekend despite having to work on Saturday (both Dan and I).  Dan came back home from work with the new Halo game and an Xbox Live subscription so I think I may have to fight him for Xbox time now so I can do my Zumba, haha.

We met some friends for sushi last night (an amazing restaurant suggestion from one of my coworkers, Nippon Inn).  The food was amazing and fresh and it didn’t cost an arm and a leg.  I think Dan and I got a little over excited though because I could barely move afterward (we had maki, nigiri, and sashimi platters, bacon wrapped asparagus, and miso soup).  It definitely made up for a disappointing lunch outing last week where I had the worst fish and chips ever.

With Thanksgiving coming up next weekend, I decided it would be nice to make a Thanksgiving meal (might be postponed until the weekend though, a little too much cooking during the work week).  I’ve heard from other expats that some typically American staples are hard to find here.  For example, green bean casserole, when Dan and I went on our weekly shopping trip, I went on an ingredient hunt.  The only canned green beans I could find were Spanish and after scouring the shelves I found some crispy onions (German from what I can gather from the label).  Mushroom soup was a bit easier, but there’s one side dish down.  I know I will not find my beloved ringed cranberry jelly here, but I’m working with what I have 🙂

On a special note, my family is celebrating my grandpa’s 80th birthday in the States today!  So happy birthday Grandpa, Dan and I send our love and wish we could be there to celebrate with you!  (Also I hope I have lots of your genes because you are an amazing 80, Grandpa!)

About Mandy

29 year old, somewhat snarky, happily married, and always on the look out for a good recipe or latest beauty bargain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spanish Green Beans and German Onions

  1. Mom says:

    The party turned out awesome!
    Grampa really is an amazing 80.
    As usual, we had more than enough food.
    I wish you could have been here too.
    I love and miss you both!

  2. Shirley Grannes says:

    Thanks for the birthday wishes. I had a great party and an amazing day. So many friends
    and relatives came. I Missed you both. The picture is great! We make quite a couple!
    I also got my deer last weekend – a nice doe.
    Love from Grandpa and Grandma too.

Leave a Reply

