Our Barbados Holiday: Part One

So Dan and I are back now from our delayed honeymoon in Barbados.  We had such an amazing time there, it feels strange to be back in England.  No more waking up early, eating breakfast, and spending the day at the beach in the sunshine.

Our hotel room

We woke up on 4 am on Saturday, the 18th to catch our coach to Gatwick Airport.  When we finally arrived at the airport and went to check in, we realized that we weren’t seated next to each other on the plane, which kind of sucked.  We tried to get our seats changed, but the plane was completely full.  Luckily, a gentleman sitting next to Dan (who also had not been seated next to his wife) swapped seats with me so Dan and I could sit next to each other.  After a 9 hour flight, we landed in Barbados around 4:00 in the afternoon, it was so warm and sunny!

On our hotel balcony

As soon as we got to our hotel and checked in, we put on our swimsuits and headed to the beach.  I think we also partook in the all inclusive bar, it was pina coladas, rum punch, and strawberry daquiris all week!

Our beach in front of the hotel

The food at the hotel was actually really nice, we pretty much started each day with a Full English, there was always some kind of fresh local fish as a lunch option, and dinner had choice of beef, chicken, and fish.  We ate a lot of food, I think I am on a food come down now.  On Monday, we booked reservations for the a la carte restaurant, got fancy and had lobster tail.  Dan had never had it before, so good.

View from our hotel room

Sunday, we spent hanging out on the beach at the hotel and getting patchy sunburn (never using aerosol sunblock again!).  And on Monday, we took the shuttle into the capitol of Barbados, Bridgetown.

Bridgetown

The highlights of Bridgetown include the harbour, the duty free shopping center, and Harley Davidson store 🙂  We wandered around Bridgetown for awhile and then had a few beers at one of the local (tiny) bars, Banks of course, which is the official beer of Barbados.

Thought you'd appreciate this Dad!

On Tuesday, we spent another day lazing on the beach, I don’t think Dan and I really climatized to Barbados time because for the entire holiday we probably were waking up around 6:30ish and going to bed somewhat early.  It was nice getting up that early, eating breakfast and then making our way down to the beach, swimming in the sea and relaxing.

Inside the Harley Shop

On Wednesday we had booked a catamaran cruise where we were able to snorkel over a shipwreck and reef and swim with sea turtles.

Our Catamaran

I was a little nervous about the snorkeling because it makes me super claustrophobic and I kind freaked out when I did in Australia and I kind of freaked out this time to, but I still did it!

Snorkeling over the Shipwreck

Swimming with the turtles was really fun, there were so many of them just cruising around.  They got so close that you could touch them, but I didn’t because apparently they like to bite fingers.

Turtle on the crappy underwater cam!

Our cruise apparently had a 5 star lunch, but the food seemed pretty much the same as what we were getting at our 3 star hotel.  The boat was a bit overcrowded, but Dan and I found a nice spot on the front of the catamaran and it was lovely to be out on the water.

We're on a boat!

And that will conclude Part One of the Barbados Holiday, I will be working on Part Two and getting that up shortly so I don’t kill your computers with all the photo uploads!

Love and miss you! ❤

About Mandy

29 year old, somewhat snarky, happily married, and always on the look out for a good recipe or latest beauty bargain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Our Barbados Holiday: Part One

  1. Michele Grannes says:

    The beach looks awesome. I wish I was there right now.
    Maybe since there is a Harley shop there, Dad might take
    me someday. Sorry about the claustrophobia. I am afraid
    you got that from me. You also got my artistic ability. I
    guess you have to take the good with the bad. Dad says
    “LYBT”. We can’t wait to spend some time with you and
    Dan in England.

    Love and miss you both!

    Mom

  2. Lynne says:

    Great pictures! Thanks for sharing! That is probably the only way I will get to see other parts of the world! HA! Will wait patiently for your other pictures.
    Love, Aunt Lynne

  3. Shirley Grannes says:

    Looks like you had a really great time! I’m jealous. Today we are getting a good taste of winter-
    which has been lacking this year. Your pictures are great.
    Love Ya both!
    Grandma & Grandpa

    • Mandy says:

      Thank you Grandma and Grandpa! I heard that there’s been a few bad winter storms, it’s just been rainy here!
      Love and miss you!
      Mandy

Leave a Reply

