And It Rained for 40 Days and 40 Nights

Maybe not quite that much, but that is what it has felt like lately!  We’ve had on and off torrential downpours for the last 3 weeks and it doesn’t look to be stopping anytime soon.  We had a bit of sunshine on Wednesday night, I had got home from work and as I usually tend to do during the work week, changed straight from my uniform into my pjs.  But when Dan got home he wanted to go kite surfing and asked me to come along, so we both headed down to the beach (I did change out of my pjs into acceptable street clothing, haha).

It was nice to sit in the sunshine on the beach with my book while Dan did his thing, he’s getting quite good too!  I am glad he convinced me to go out because I think that is the last of the sun we will see for a while!

The Olympic torch is coming/came through our way today, specifically it was going right down the street where my work is, I am quite glad I wasn’t scheduled to go in today, it would have been cool to see, but I don’t even know how I would have gotten into work with all the roads blocked off.

Thursday, I went to a friend’s hen do, which was a cream tea at Chewton Glen (a very swanky country hotel and spa).  Our friends, Jon and Ashley are getting married in August (Dan is the best man).  Ashley’s hen do was my first ever cream tea since moving here and it was absolutely amazing! It was a bit surreal sitting in the lounge being served finger sandwiches and cute little desserts while the rain battered down outside.

Dan and I got some cleaning down today and Dan tidied up our sad excuse for a garden (the weather has not been kind to our little plants).  But we do have some survivors!  Dan found 6 little green tomatoes and we have a baby chili sprouting as well 🙂

Hope everyone is doing alright in the states!  We miss you and love you! xx

About Mandy

29 year old, somewhat snarky, happily married, and always on the look out for a good recipe or latest beauty bargain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

