London with the Aunts!

Last Thursday I woke up and Dan drove me to the coach station (saw a few girls stumbling home in their Halloween get up, very classy!) so that I could take the coach up to London to meet up with my Aunt Debbie, Cindy and cousin, Keegan.  Keegan is studying in London for a semester as part of a student exchange program, so my aunts came over to visit and see the sights 🙂

After I arrived at Victoria Station, I made my way via tube to Gloucester station and luckily found Aunt Debbie and Cindy fairly easily on the street corner.  We then went to collect Keegan who had been away visiting Paris and Amsterdam.  After some reorganizing and planning, we decided to see St. Paul’s Cathedral before dinner and Billy Elliot.

St. Paul’s was absolutely gorgeous, I’d seen it, but never been inside.  But oh man, did we walk up some stairs (over 500 steps to get to the top of the dome!).  We could have stayed quite a bit longer looking around, but service was starting and we had to get ready for the play.

We grabbed a bite at a pub before heading to Billy Elliot.

It was very strange to see my little cousin drinking in a pub, haha!

Billy Elliot was really good, it was awesome to finally see a musical in London.  The cockney accents were hilarious although I think I might have understood parts a bit better by living here for over 2 years and getting used to the different accents!

The next day we did Harrods and the Victoria and Albert Museum.  Harrods was so huge it was hard to comprehend.  Keegan and I enjoyed the art gallery, they had some amazing Dali sculptures.  And I think we could have left Aunt Cindy there for a day or two and she would have been happy 🙂

There was a fashion exhibit at the V and A which was really cool seeing designs from the 1800s to today.  Eventually we had to get back to the tube station so we could catch the coach into Bournemouth.  Dan met us when we got in and we had a late dinner and then bedtime, I think everyone was exhausted from all the site seeing in London.

The next day we had lovely weather and took the ferry over to Corfe Castle.

We had lunch at a nice (and busy!) little cafe and then we tried to go to Durdle Door, but ended up getting caught in a windy, cold rain shower instead.  Lovely English weather at its finest!

Dan and I thought it would nice for everyone to have a proper Sunday roast (on a Saturday though) before they left so we picked up roast supplies and a few bottles of wine and had a nice night in.

It was so nice to be able to visit with my family, see a bit more of London, get to show them around Bournemouth and where Dan and I live!

About Mandy

29 year old, somewhat snarky, happily married, and always on the look out for a good recipe or latest beauty bargain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to London with the Aunts!

  1. Shirley Grannes says:

    Hi Mandy,
    Debbie & Cindy said you treated them like royalty when they were in England. I’m glad you
    all had such a good time. The pictures are great.
    Saturday it was 69 deg. f. here – today it was 20 with a layer of ice and snow on the road. I had
    to out this morning and it was so SLIPPERY! That is Minnesota weather for you. Deer hunting
    was a bummer – they all got skunked! Bye for now.
    We Love & Miss you!
    Grandma & Grandpa

Leave a Reply

