ILR Granted!

I guess putting a whinge out onto the ol’ internets may have sped things along.  Because Dan and I received my visa approval yesterday!

I came home from work on Friday and opened the front door to 2 postal slips on our doormat.  One was for a recorded signed for letter in the name of “Grannes”, which looked promising.  So I dropped my handbag in the entryway and immediately called Dan, “I think we may possibly have our visa.”  Trying not to get too optimistic.

I had to work the next day, so I told Dan he could go collect the letter, but he wasn’t allowed to open it until I got home from work.  When I came home, Dan was sitting in the kitchen with a rather large white package through which you could see the imprint of something suspiciously passport shaped.

After tearing inside, I found a letter along with our passports and a 2 inch stack of all the documentation we sent in saying that I would receive my Biometric Resident Permit in 10 days (I told Dan they could have at least started the letter off with “Congratulations” or “Thank you for being so patient while we slowly destroyed your soul for 5 1/2 months”).

2013-02-24 12.32.29

Hello babies, mommy and daddy missed you.

So the waiting game is over.  We can move forward with our lives once again.  And that includes booking our tickets to visit the States.  Dan and I will be coming over July 8th-22nd, give or take a day or two on either end.  And both of us can’t wait!  I think Dan and Jennie are already planning on a trip to Valley Fair (Dan has never been on a proper roller coaster).  We’re hoping to make it up to the cabin for a few days, eat a lot of Chipotle, enjoy some proper summer weather and most importantly, visit family! 🙂

For those of you interested in what this all means for me visa-wise, ILR allows me to basically live here as a UK citizen would (except no voting).  I now have access to public funds and there’s no expiration on my ILR visa like there was with my previous visas.  I will most likely go for British citizenship at some point (once you’ve lived here 3 years, you can apply), but I’m not in a rush to do that.  It would be neat to be a dual passport carrying person though.

Here’s to a huge weight being lifted off our shoulders and roll on July! xx

About Mandy

29 year old, somewhat snarky, happily married, and always on the look out for a good recipe or latest beauty bargain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to ILR Granted!

  1. megbenj says:

    Hurray!!! So glad it all finally worked out!

  2. Congratulations to you both x

  3. Michele Grannes says:

    I’m very happy for you kids. Now we can get those tickets!!!!!
    Love and miss you both xoxoxo

  4. Judy Adamson says:

    Congrats kids! Will start looking forward to July! Love you.

  5. Shirley Grannes says:

    Hi, Mandy & Dan;
    Glad you finally got all your paperwork OK’d. We will be happy to see you. You might be here to
    see your new cousin – Tony & Myra’s baby is due the first part of July – a girl. The cabin will be
    waiting for you. I have work to do on the cabin – some new window treatments so guess I’d
    better get busy! Spring looks like it’s going to come to MN – The temps are in the low 30’s
    and the sun is shining and the snow & ice are melting – HOORAY!
    Love,
    Grandma & Grandpa

Leave a Reply

